IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

6 books to read if you enjoyed 'The Four Winds' by Kristin Hannah

Try out one of these author-recommended reads next!
Collage of book covers on pink background
TODAY Illustration / Amazon
/ Source: TODAY

Our editors independently selected these items because we think you will enjoy them and might like them at these prices. If you purchase something through our links, we may earn a commission. Pricing and availability are accurate as of publish time. Learn more about Shop TODAY.

For February's Read With Jenna book club pick, Jenna Bush Hager selected "The Four Winds" by Kristin Hannah.

Hannah's 24th book, tells the story of Elsa Wolcott. Living in Texas in 1921, Elsa has been deemed too old for marriage. With her reputation in ruin, she marries a man she considers to be her last hope, Rafe Martinelli. More than 10 years later, the country is sliding into depression and the Great Plains that were previously bountiful have been destroyed by drought. Elsa uses her fierce inner strength to beat heartbreak, suffering and starvation to save her children’s lives.

If you loved Hannah's harrowing story with a strong female character at the center, the author recommends picking up these five books next.

"Where the Crawdads Sing" by Delia Owens

The No. 1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon, "Where the Crawdads Sing" is part coming-of-age story and part murder mystery. Kya Clark, also known as "The Marsh Girl," is a quiet and misunderstood member of her North Carolina coastal town. When Chase Andrews is found dead one morning in 1969, the mysterious loner becomes an immediate suspect. This heartbreaking story is about the people and places that make us who we are.

"Pachinko" by Min Jin Lee

Lee's novel is the story of four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family living in Japan in the 20th century. The family's saga begins when Sunja, the teenage daughter of a disabled fisherman in Korea, becomes pregnant at the hands of a wealthy, married man. Refusing to be bought, Sunja marries a sickly minister passing through the country on his way to Japan.

Centered around strong, complex characters who evolve over generations, "Pachinko" is a story about love, loyalty and family.

"Unbroken" by Laura Hillenbrand

"Unbroken" tells the nonfiction story of Louis Zamperini, who goes from young delinquent to Olympic athlete to World War II prisoner of war. The book, which has since been made into a film, is an unforgettable story about suffering, hope, resilience and willpower.

"The Kite Runner" by Khaled Hosseini

Hosseini's debut novel, "The Kite Runner" tells the story of an unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father's servant. Set in Afghanistan at a crucial point in the country's history, the novel is a powerful tale of betrayal and salvation. It asks the reader to question the relationship between father and son.

"The Exiles" by Christina Baker Kline

This sweeping historical fiction transports readers back to the early days of Australia's colonization and is told from the perspective of three women — Evangeline, Hazel and Mathinna.

Evangeline is a young governess, who is sent to prison and banished to Australia after being seduced and impregnated by her employer's son. She befriends Hazel, who was sentenced to Australia after stealing a silver spoon, during their voyage to the continent. Mathinna, is the orphaned daughter of the aboriginal chief of the Lowreenne tribe in Australia. All three "exiles" find grace in hardship and form unbreakable bonds of friendship as they navigate life in a brand new society.

"The Nickel Boys" by Colson Whitehead

Colson Whitehead's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel is based on a real reform school where thousands of children were forced to serve juvenile detention. The book starts with the main character, Elwood Curtis, being wrongfully sentenced to attend Nickel Academy. In this chamber of horrors, his only salvation is his friend, Turner. The two boys are forced to make a decision that will echo through the decades. This heartbreaking and harrowing story about justice and mercy is a must read.

To stay up to date on the latest book club news, subscribe to the Read With Jenna newsletter!

For more book recommendations, check out:

To discover more deals, shopping tips and budget-friendly product recommendations, download the TODAY app and subscribe to the Stuff We Love newsletter!