IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

First winner of the Plimpton Prize named

Paris Review named the award George Plimpton

The Paris Review has announced its first winner of the Plimpton Prize, named for longtime editor George Plimpton, who died last fall.

Yiyun Li, cited for the short story “Immortality,” will receive $5,000 for “the best piece of writing by a newcomer to appear in The Paris Review in a given year.”

The Paris Review, a literary quarterly co-founded by Plimpton in 1953, has published early fiction by such authors as Philip Roth, Jack Kerouac and V.S. Naipaul.

Other winners of prizes sponsored by the magazine were also announced Wednesday.

Michael Chabon’s novella, “The Final Solution,” won the $1,000 Aga Khan Prize for the best fiction overall to appear in The Paris Review. Julie Sheehan has been awarded the Bernard F. Conners Prize, also worth $1,000, for the best long poem to appear in the Review in 2003. She was cited for her poem, “Brown-Headed Cowbirds.”