IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Bellow among nominees for Booker Prize

New award to be given to author who conjures 'joy of reading'
/ Source: The Associated Press

Nobel laureates Saul Bellow, Gunter Grass and Gabriel Garcia Marquez were among 18 finalists announced Friday for the first ever Man International Booker Prize, a lifetime achievement award worth around $115,000.

“For us, these are eighteen authors who combine uniqueness and universality and remind us irresistibly of the joy of reading,” said novelist John Casey, chair of the Booker judging panel. Casey spoke at a press conference held at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Other authors cited include Nobel laureate Kenzaburo Oe, of Japan; Americans Philip Roth, John Updike and Cynthia Ozick; Canada’s Margaret Atwood; Britain’s Ian McEwan; and Egypt’s Naguib Mahfouz.

Also nominated were Ismail Kadare, Milan Kundera, Stanislaw Lem, Doris Lessing, Tomas Eloy Martinez, Muriel Spark, Antonio Tabucchi and A.B. Yehoshua.

The winner will be announced in June. The prize is to be awarded every two years, “to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language.”