IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

House passes bill to tighten controls on ‘visa-free’ travel to US


The United States House of Representatives has overwhelmingly passed a bill that would tighten controls on travel to America without a visa. The visa waiver program allows citizens of 38 countries to travel to the U.S. without first obtaining a visa, but now, anyone who has been in Syria, Iraq, Iran or Sudan in the previous 5 years will have to obtain a visa in order to get into the U.S.