IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Tony Awards will not have a single host

60 stars, including Oprah Winfrey, will appear throughout the telecast
/ Source: The Associated Press

There will be no single host for the 60th annual Tony Awards honoring the best of the Broadway season.

Instead, 60 stars — including “Color Purple” producer Oprah Winfrey — will serve as presenters when the winners are announced June 11 during a three-hour show to be televised by CBS (8 p.m. ET) from Radio City Music Hall.

“The 60th anniversary show is bigger than just one host,” Glenn Weiss and Ricky Kirshner, the show’s executive producers, said Tuesday. “So we have put together a lineup of 60 stars from the stage to lead our celebration.”

Other performers enlisted for presenting duties include Glenn Close, Hank Azaria, Bernadette Peters, Liev Schreiber, Kyra Sedgwick and Mark Ruffalo. They join the already announced Julia Roberts, Ralph Fiennes, Eric McCormack, Cynthia Nixon, Martin Short, Alfre Woodard and Anna Paquin.

In the past, diverse performers such as Rosie O’Donnell, Hugh Jackman, Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick have served as hosts for the show.

Winfrey became a visible presence on Broadway this season with her involvement in “The Color Purple,” which has been nominated for 11 Tonys, including best musical.

The Antoinette Perry Tony Awards, founded in 1947 by the American Theatre Wing, are presented by the Wing and the League of American Theatres and Producers.