IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Oprah honored at International Emmys

Hillary Clinton presents Founder's Award to talk-show maven
/ Source: The Associated Press

Oprah Winfrey has received a Founder's Award from the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

The Founders Award celebrates the creative accomplishments of an individual or organization whose work is recognized throughout the world.

Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton, D-N.Y., presented a statuette to Winfrey at a ceremony Monday night at which the academy awarded its International Emmy Awards.

Sven Clausen, executive producer, and Peter Thorsboe, head writer, of Denmark, accepted a Drama category award for their crime series "The Eagle." The award was presented by actress Gabriela Spanic.

He Lin of China won the Best Actress category for her role in "Slave Mother," and Thierry Fremont of France won in the Best Actor category for his role in "Dans la Tete du Tueur."

The Directorate Award was presented to Charles Allen, chief executive of British commercial broadcaster ITV pic, by acclaimed British actress Dame Helen Mirren.

Canadians Ken Finkleman, writer, director and executive producer, and Jan Peter Mayboom, executive producer, won in the Comedy category for "NEWSROOM."

Director Rumle Hammerich and producer Tina Dalhoff of Denmark won in the TV Movie Miniseries category for "Young Andersen," about the life of Hans Christian Andersen.

The International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, founded in 1969 to promote excellence in international television programming, is the largest organization of global broadcasters with members from nearly 70 countries and over 350 companies.