IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Jon Stewart wins Thurber humor prize

‘Daily Show’ host honored for mock textbook ‘America the Book’
/ Source: The Associated Press

For a funny guy, Jon Stewart is starting to collect some serious prizes.

Stewart, David Javerbaum and Ben Karlin won the 2005 Thurber Prize for American Humor for their book, "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents America (The Book): A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction."

The runners-up were Andy Borowitz for "The Borowitz Report: The Big Book of Shockers" and Firoozeh Dumas for "Funny in Farsi: A Memoir of Growing up Iranian in America."

The award is named for James Thurber, an author, humorist and New Yorker magazine cartoonist who delighted readers for decades with his sharp wit and literary flair before his death in 1961.

Stewart is the host of Comedy Central's "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," which has earned seven Emmys and a George Foster Peabody Award.

The Thurber Prize, started in 1996, is considered the nation's top award for humor writing.

The trio received the award Monday night at the Algonquin Hotel, the legendary spot where New Yorker writers, including Thurber, once gathered frequently to hold court.

Christopher Buckley, son of conservative author and commentator William F. Buckley, was given the prize last year for "No Way to Treat a First Lady," which spoofs the marriage of former President Clinton and first lady Hillary Clinton.