IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Jennifer Garner, Bradley Cooper, Russell Brand and a Bunch of Your A-List Faves Get Academy Invite

A whole bunch of celebs have only just now scored the right to vote.
/ Source: E!online

A whole bunch of celebs have only just now scored the right to vote.

For Oscar, that is.

Jennifer Garner, Jesse Eisenberg, Beyonc Knowles, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Russell Brand, Ellen Page, Mila Kunis and 170 other artistes have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which of course doles out the Academy Awards every year.

So, why now, and why them?

READ: Mark Your Calendars! Academy Announces 2012 Oscar Night

"These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today," Academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement. "Their talent and creativity have entertained moviegoers around the world, and I welcome each of them to our ranks."

Sadly, one of the new memberships is only honorary, as for the first time ever the Academy has extended a posthumous invite. Documentary filmmaker Tim Hetherington, who was nominated for an Oscar earlier this year for Restrepo, was killed in April while covering the unrest in Libya.

A few of the household name directors who will presumably be accepting their invites include The Kids Are All Right helmer Lisa Cholodenko and Tom Hooper, who scored the big win in February for The King's Speech.

A few of this year's break-out acting nominees made the cut, including Eisenberg, incoming Hunger Games hero Jennifer Lawrence, her Winter's Bone costar John Hawkes, and Animal Kingdom's Jacki Weaver.

Rooney Mara, Mia Wasikowska, Rosemarie DeWitt, Nastassja Kinski, Ta Leoni, Lesley Manville and Connie Nielsen also make for lovely additions to the group, while Gerard Butler, David Duchovny, Avatar's Wes Studi, Peter Dinklage, Thomas Jane, John Corbett, Robbie Coltrane and Vincent Cassel round out the beefcake section.

Whoever accepts the honor will be among the only additions to the Academy this year. Happy decision-making, stars!

GALLERY: Top 10 Shocking Oscar Moments