IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Hollywood elite among Kids' Choice

Jackman wins burping contest in Nickelodeon awards shows
/ Source: The Associated Press

The green slime oozed and children screamed in delight at Saturday’s 17th annual Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards.

Mike Myers and Cameron Diaz, who won the hearts of kids everywhere as the voices of the love-struck ogre and princess in the animated film “Shrek,” hosted the show at UCLA’s Pauley Pavilion. Myers ended the event drenched in slime, a trademark booby-prize of Nickelodeon’s audience-participation shows.

Hip-hop group OutKast won the best band prize as well as the best song award for “Hey Ya!”

“Thank you for inviting us to your award show,” the group’s singer, Andre 3000, told a crowd filled with mostly screaming kids. “We’re having a great time, and it is so great to learn how to read. You have to read, that’s it, and count, and all that type of stuff. Stay away from drugs.”

Big Boi added: “We love you, yeah. And don’t forget to tell your parents to get out and vote.”

The awards, in which kids vote for their favorite actors, musicians and sports heroes, has become one of Hollywood’s most star-studded events. This year’s show included actor Adam Sandler, who received the “Wannabe Award,” which is given annually to the celebrity kids most want to be like. OutKast opened the live telecast and singer Avril Lavigne also performed. The show broadcast BMX champion Mat Hoffman jumping out of a plane on a bike and parachuting into a giant pool of slime.

Hugh Jackman, a Broadway star who has won over kids with his portrayal of Wolverine in the “X-Men” movies, won the show’s celebrity burping contest. Diaz won in 2001.

“Finally something my family can be proud of,” Jackman said, gleefully interrupting his acceptance speech with burps.

Celebrities who made appearances on the show included Kirsten Dunst and Tobey Maguire, stars of the “Spider-Man” movie franchise; Jennifer Love Hewitt; Lindsay Lohan; Jennifer Garner; George Lopez; Jennifer Lopez; twins Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, who were both slimed; and skating legend Tony Hawk.

The awards show was broadcast live on the Nickelodeon cable network. Kids voted online and by phone for the winners.