IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Doctorow's ‘The March’ wins Faulkner award

Novelist previously won PEN prize in 1990 for ‘Billy Bathgate’
/ Source: The Associated Press

E.L. Doctorow's "The March," a finalist for the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle prize, won the PEN/Faulkner award for fiction, the PEN/Faulkner foundation announced Tuesday.

Doctorow, who won the 1990 PEN/Faulkner for "Billy Bathgate," will receive $15,000. Four runners-up will each receive $5,000: Karen Fisher for "A Sudden Country"; William Henry Lewis for "I Got Somebody in Staunton"; James Salter for "Last Night"; and Bruce Wagner for "The Chrysanthemum Palace."

Other previous PEN/Faulkner winners include Philip Roth, Don DeLillo and Ha Jin.

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation, based in Washington, D.C., is "committed to building audiences for exceptional literature and bringing writers together with their readers."