IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Directors Guild to honor Clint Eastwood

‘Million Dollar Baby’ director to receive lifetime achievement award
/ Source: Hollywood Reporter

Clint Eastwood will receive a lifetime achievement award from the Directors Guild of America when the group holds its annual ceremony in Los Angeles on Jan. 28, it said Thursday.

The honor, first presented in 1953, has been given only 31 times, first with Cecil B. De Mille and, most recently to Mike Nichols in 2004. Other recipients include Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola, Stanley Kubrick, Woody Allen, Billy Wilder, Orson Welles, Alfred Hitchcock, Frank Capra and John Ford.

Eastwood’s “Million Dollar Baby” won both the DGA Award for directoral achievement and the Academy Award for best director and best picture last year. He is currently finishing the World War II picture “Flags of Our Fathers.”

The 58th annual DGA Awards will take place at the Century Plaza Hotel. Nominees will be announced Jan. 5.