IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

‘Aviator’ wins top Producers Guild award

Group also gives television prize to HBO series
/ Source: The Associated Press

The Howard Hughes biopic “The Aviator,” claimed another top prize at the Producers Guild of America awards.

The film’s producers, Michael Mann and Graham King, were given the Darryl F. Zanuck producer of the year award Saturday. “The Aviator,” which also took the top dramatic prize at the Golden Globes, is among the favored candidates in this year’s Oscars race. Nominations will be announced Tuesday by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The producers of three HBO television shows took home top prizes: “Angels in America” for best long-form television, “The Sopranos” for episodic drama and “Curb Your Enthusiasm” for episodic comedy.

The Stanley Kramer award, named for the producer who often tackled social issues, went to two productions: “Hotel Rwanda” the real-life tale of an innkeeper sheltering refugees from genocide, and “Innocent Voices,” a fictionalized version of one boy’s experience during the Salvadoran civil war.

Wayne Brady hosted Saturday’s ceremony at the historic Culver Studios in Los Angeles.

Honorary awards were given to DreamWorks studio co-founder Jeffrey Katzenberg, producers Laura Ziskin and John Wells, and former Warner Bros. studio boss Terry Semel, now chairman of Yahoo Inc.

Other winners included:

—Non-fiction television: “The Amazing Race,” CBS.

—Variety Television: “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” Syndicated.