IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Artists to receive Princess Grace Awards

Grants are given emerging artists in dance, theater and film
/ Source: Reuters

Twenty-seven emerging American artists in theater, dance and film will share a total of $400,000 in grants awarded on Wednesday to winners of the 2004 Princess Grace Awards.

Prince Albert of Monaco, son of the late princess and former actress Grace Kelly, will preside over the awards gala in midtown New York sponsored by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA and hosted by actress Sharon Stone.

Grant winners include Shaun Fillion of the California Institute of the Arts for theater, Ayo Jackson of the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company of New York for dance and Victoria Gamburg of San Francisco State University for film.

Past winners include Stephen Hillenburg, creator of the “SpongeBob SquarePants” cartoon series, Kate Robin, producer and writer for HBO’s “Six Feet Under,” and award-winning playwright Tony Kushner, who will present a career-achievement award to theater director George C. Wolfe, another former grant winner.

“The Princess Grace Awards are based on artistic excellence,” Prince Albert said in a statement issued through his U.S. representatives in New York. “This year we saw a particular degree of excellence that embodied my mother’s vision for these awards.”