IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Alison Krauss leads Bluegrass nominees

Singer, Union Station collect 14 nods, including entertainer of the year
/ Source: The Associated Press

Alison Krauss & Union Station received 14 Bluegrass Music Awards nominations Tuesday, including entertainer of the year.

Rhonda Vincent and her band The Rage garnered eight nominations, and Doyle Lawson and his group Quicksilver got seven.

“After a long year of touring, it’s a really nice reward for all the work we’ve done. We really appreciate our peers recognizing us,” said Vincent, who announced the nominations with Ricky Skaggs at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Besides entertainer of the year, the nominations for Krauss and her group, individually or collectively, included: album with “Lonely Runs Both Ways,” instrumental group, vocal group, song of the year, gospel recorded performance, female vocalist for Krauss, male vocalist for Dan Tyminski and individual instrumental nominations for Jerry Douglas (dobro), Barry Bales (bass) and Ron Block (banjo).

Krauss and Tyminski also are featured on the Larry Sparks album “40,” which is nominated for album of the year and recorded event of the year. Krauss also received a nomination for being part of the recorded event nominated album “Moody Bluegrass.”

Krauss, who was not at Tuesday’s announcement, will host the Oct. 27 awards show with Skaggs at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Lawson, who’s been playing bluegrass for more than 40 years, said nominations are “a nod of approval, whether you win or not. It makes you feel good and says that people are paying attention to what you’re doing.”

This is the first year the show sponsored by the International Bluegrass Music Association will be in Nashville after several years in Louisville, Ky., and before that in Owensboro, Ky.

David Crow, chairman/president of the IBMA board of directors, said the World of Bluegrass Week, Oct. 24-30, had outgrown its digs in Louisville.

“We couldn’t accommodate any growth,” Crow said. “We could have separated the different events. But the board thought there was something magical about keeping them all together.”

Jake Johnson and Damon Wayans Jr. on the "Let's Be Cops," red carpet, Selena Gomez is immortalized in wax and more.

The awards are voted on by the professional membership of the IBMA, the trade association for the bluegrass music industry.

The IBMA also announced Tuesday that fiddle player Benny Martin and singer Red Allen will be inducted into the Bluegrass Music Hall of Honor. Previous honorees include Bill Monroe, Earl Scruggs and Lester Flatt, the Stanley Brothers, the Osborne Brothers, the Carter Family and Arthel “Doc” Watson.

Martin of Sparta, Tenn., performed with Bill Monroe and his Bluegrass Boys and recorded with Roy Acuff, Flatt & Scruggs and Don Reno. He also was a solo artist and songwriter who penned “Ice Cold Love” and the autobiographical “Me and My Fiddle.” But Martin, who died March 13, 2001, is best recognized for his fiddle playing.

“Everybody in those days wanted to play like Benny,” said Grand Ole Opry announcer Eddie Stubbs. “He was certainly a hot player. ... Those recordings continue to influence players today.”

Allen of Hazard, Ky., sang and played guitar with the Osborne Brothers and helped pioneer the “high lead” vocal harmony format in the 1950s. Allen also had a solo career and performed with his sons, including Nashville songwriter Harley Allen. Allen’s signature songs include “Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes” and “Whose Shoulder Will You Cry On.” Allen died April 3, 1993.