IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

AFI honors best of 2005 film, TV

‘Brokeback,’ ‘Kong,’ ‘Virgin’ on movie list
/ Source: Hollywood Reporter

Critics’ darling “Brokeback Mountain,” the upcoming effects extravaganza “King Kong” and the raucous comedy “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” are among the 10 films that the American Film Institute has judged as the most outstanding motion pictures of the year.

The official selections of AFI Awards 2005 for top films and TV programs were announced Sunday after two days of deliberations by two juries that selected the year’s best in film and television.

The AFI will honor the creative ensembles behind each of the honorees Jan. 13 at a luncheon at the Four Seasons in Los Angeles.

“AFI is proud to honor these 20 collaborative teams. As the institute recognizes and celebrates excellence across the century, these honorees will be part of the record that documents America’s enduring cultural legacy,” AFI director and CEO Jean Picker Firstenberg said.

In addition to “Mountain,” “Kong” and “Virgin,” the movies chosen are “Capote,” “Crash,” “Good Night, and Good Luck,” “A History of Violence,” “Munich,” “The Squid and the Whale” and “Syriana.”

The 10 TV programs are: “24,” “Battlestar Galactica,” “Deadwood,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “House,” “Lost,” “Rescue Me,” “Sleeper Cell,” “Sometimes in April” and “Veronica Mars.”

The film jury comprised producer Robert G. Rehme, director Martha Coolidge, critic David Denby, scholar Anna Everett, director Norman Jewison, producer Tom Pollock, director Jay Roach, critic Lisa Schwarzbaum, scholar Vivian Sobchack, author David Thomson, critic Kenneth Turan, scholar Stephen Ujlaki and producer Laura Ziskin.

The TV jury’s members were director Marshall Herskovitz, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences president Dick Askin, writer Lionel Chetwynd, scholar Mary Corey, producer Tony Jonas, producer Jeffrey Kramer, critic Melanie McFarland, scholar Tara McPherson, producer Dorothea Petrie, director Frank Pierson, critic James Poniewozik, writer Del Reisman and critic Matt Roush.