IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Stars offer talent, voices for hurricane victims

Alicia Keys, Jennifer Aniston to appear Friday in Concert for the Gulf Coast
/ Source:

Sheryl Crow, the Dixie Chicks, Alicia Keys, Randy Newman, Paul Simon, Rod Stewart and Neil Young are among the performers who will sing Friday night as a part of "Shelter From the Storm: A Concert for the Gulf Coast," which will air live on NBC and all the broadcast networks at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. It will be tape delayed on in the Mountain and Pacific time zones.

(MSNBC is a joint venture between NBC and Microsoft.)

The live one-hour concert to benefit the victims of Hurricane Katrina also will be streamed live on

Jennifer Aniston, Cameron Diaz, Ellen DeGeneres, Jack Nicholson, Chris Rock, Ray Romano and Sela Ward are also expected to make presentations during the fundraising special.

Joel Gallen, executive producer of “Shelter From the Storm: A Concert for the Gulf Coast,” said no special precautions will be taken to edit out political statements.

During NBC's benefit concert on Sept. 2, rapper Kanye West departed from a prepared script to say that “George Bush doesn’t care about black people.” He’s one of a dozen musicians scheduled to perform Friday.

Only a standard five- or seven-second delay will be employed to guard against any obscenities, Gallen said. He said he’s spoken to all of the musicians and actors who will be appearing on the show about not detracting from the mission.

“I think people understand that politicizing this will certainly not be a smart thing to do as far as inspiring people to call in and rally around this cause,” he said.

NBC's Sept. 2  "A Concert for Hurricane Relief," featured Harry Connick Jr., Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Aaron Neville and Wynton Marsalis. Viewers were asked to send donations to the Red Cross during the broadcast. The Red Cross received $50.8 million in donations during the concert.

The special also will be broadcast in at least 95 countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Spain, Taiwan, the United Kingdom and virtually all of Asia and the Middle East.