IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Golf Glance

All Times EST
/ Source: The Associated Press

All Times EST



Site: Pebble Beach, Calif.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Courses: Pebble Beach Golf Links (6,816 yards, par 72), Monterey Peninsula Country Club, Shore Course (6,900 yards, par 72) and Spyglass Hill Golf Club (6,833 yards, par 72).

Purse: $6.4 million. Winner's share: $1,152,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-7 p.m., 8:30-11:30 p.m.; Friday, 12:30-3:30 a.m., 3-7 p.m., 8:30-11:30 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-3:30 a.m., 1-2:30 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.; Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.) and CBS (Saturday, 3-6 p.m.; Sunday, 3-6:30 p.m.).

Last year: D.A. Points won his first PGA Tour title and teamed with Bill Murray to win the pro-am competition. Hunter Mahan was second, two strokes back.

Last week: Kyle Stanley rebounded from a devastating loss at Torrey Pines with a victory in the Phoenix Open. He beat Ben Crane by a stroke, overcoming an eight-stroke deficit with a final-round 65. The previous week in San Diego, Stanley made a triple-bogey 8 on the final hole and lost a playoff to Brandt Snedeker. Spencer Levin, six strokes ahead entering play Sunday at TPC Scottsdale, had a 75 to finish third, two strokes back.

Notes: Tiger Woods is making his first PGA Tour start of the season after opening play two weeks ago with a third-place tie in Abu Dhabi. He won the last of his 71 PGA Tour titles in September 2009. Woods also won the 2009 Australian Masters and his own Chevron World Challenge last December. He swept the Pro-Am and U.S. Open at Pebble Beach in 2000, winning the Open by a record 15 shots. Woods, playing the event from the first time since 2002, will team with Dallas quarterback Tony Romo. ... Ninth-ranked Dustin Johnson, the 2009 and 2010 winner, is the only player in the top 10 in the world in the field. ... Phil Mickelson is playing for the fourth straight week. He won in 1998, 2005 and 2007. In 2007, he matched the tournament record of 20-under 268 set by Mark O'Meara in 1997. ... Stanley is taking the week off. Levin is in the field. ... Graeme McDowell, the 2010 U.S. Open winner at Pebble Beach, is skipping the tournament. ... The final round will be played at Pebble Beach. ... The Northern Trust Open is next week at Riviera in Los Angeles, followed by the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship in Marana, Ariz.





Site: Melbourne, Australia.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Royal Melbourne Golf Club, Composite Course (6,505 yards, par 73).

Purse: $1.1 million. Winner's share: $165,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 12:30-2:30 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 10 a.m.-12:30 p.m.).

Last year: Taiwan's Yani Tseng successfully defended her title, winning by seven strokes at Commonwealth Golf Club. She won the Australian Ladies Masters the following week and went on to win 11 worldwide titles, including major victories in the LPGA Championship and Women's British Open.

Last week: The Netherlands' Christel Boeljon won the Australian Ladies Masters, birdieing the final hole for a one-stroke victory. The event was sanctioned by Australian Ladies Professional Golf and the Ladies European Tour.

Notes: The tournament opens the LPGA Tour season. ... The top-ranked Tseng tops the field along with No. 2 Suzann Pettersen, No. 4 Cristie Kerr, No. 7 Jiyai Shin, No. 9 Brittany Lincicome, No. 10 Stacy Lewis, four-time winner Karrie Webb and 16-year-old Lexi Thompson ... Fourteen-year-old New Zealand amateur Lydia Ko also is in the field. She won the New South Wales Open two weeks ago to become the youngest winner of a sanctioned professional tour event. ... Royal Melbourne, designed by Alister MacKenzie and Alex Russell, was the site of the Presidents Cup in November. ... The 2013 tournament will be played at Royal Canberra. ... The LPGA Thailand is next week, followed by the HSBC Women's Champions in Singapore.


Australian Ladies Professional Golf site:

Ladies European Tour site:




Site: Boca Raton, Fla.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: The Old Course at Broken Sound Club (6,807 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.8 million. Winner's share: $270,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 6:30-8:30 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-2:30 a.m., 6:30-9:30 p.m.; Sunday, 1-3 a.m., 7-9:30 p.m.; Monday, 1-3 a.m.).

Last year: Tom Lehman won the first of his three 2011 titles, birdieing the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Jeff Sluman and Rod Spittle.

Last event: Dan Forsman won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hawaii on Jan. 22, beating Jay Don Blake by two strokes.

Notes: The tournament is the first full-field event of the year. ... Fred Funk is making his first start on the 50-and-over tour since July. He had surgery in August to repair a torn ligament in his left thumb and remove scar tissue from his right knee. ... In 2010, Bernhard Langer holed a 45-foot bunker shot for eagle to beat John Cook on the first hole of a playoff. ... The tour will remain in Florida next week for the ACE Group Classic in Naples.





Site: Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Emirates Golf Club, Majlis Course (7,301 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.5 million. Winner's share: $416,670.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 4:30-8:30 a.m., 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Saturday, 4-8 a.m., 3-5 p.m.; Sunday, 4-8 a.m., 3-6:30 p.m.).

Last year: Spain's Alvaro Quiros won by a stroke, making a hole-in-one in a final-round 68. Tiger Woods closed with a 75 to tie for 20th. Quiros also won the season-ending Dubai World Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates.

Last week: Scotland's Paul Lawrie won the wind-shortened Qatar Open, beating Jason Day and Peter Hanson by four strokes. John Daly was fourth, six strokes back.

Notes: Rory McIlroy, the 2009 winner, is in the field along with Quiros, Lawrie, Daly, Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer, Fred Couples, Mark O'Meara, 2010 champion Miguel Angel Jimenez and former Oklahoma State star Peter Uihlein. Couples won the 1995 tournament. O'Meara won in 2004. ... The Avantha Masters is next week in India.





ASIAN TOUR: Philippine Open, Thursday-Sunday, Wack Wack Golf and Country Club, Manila Philippines. Online: