Get the latest from TODAY

Sign up for our newsletter
By allDAY

Dave Garroway welcomed America to TODAY on Jan. 14, 1952, and the news broadcasting landscape was forever changed. Since then, TODAY has brought its viewers six decades of historical moments and became the country’s No. 1 morning news destination for more than 16 years. 

TODAY will reflect on those achievements during an anniversary celebration Friday, Jan. 13. 

The event will feature current and past anchors, including Meredith Vieira, Katie Couric, Bryant Gumbel, Tom Brokaw, Jane Pauley, Barbara Walters, Hugh Downs, Jim Hartz, Deborah Norville and many more, all live in studio.

In the meantime, find video highlights from the past six decades on our TODAY at 60 experience. Viewers can also watch the first show and reflect on their time watching the broadcast. Find those features here.

In addition, viewers can also toast TODAY on Twitter by using the hashtag #TODAYat60" and check in on GetGlue to earn a special social media sticker. 

We'll have plenty of other surprises during next week (including a presidential message, homages from landmarks and a delicious treat), so make sure to watch! 

What is your favorite TODAY moment during the past 60 years? Let us know in the comments below.